Middlemarch Museum Submarine: The Platypus
Save our submarine. The Platypus constructed in 1874, is now located at the Middlemarch Museum. Money is required for conservation.
This fascinating relic from our industrial past, located at the Middlemarch Museum, is probably the only submarine built in New Zealand. Created in Dunedin in 1873 to a French design, it was intended for gold mining in the Clutha River. Although it was trialled successfully in the Otago Harbour money ran out. It languished on the wharf in Dunedin until being taken to Barewood, near Middlemarch, in 1924. The Platypus is one of only two submarines of its vintage known to be still in existence, world wide. Consequently, it has attracted national and international attention.
Strath Taieri Historical Society's involvement (page creator)
The Strath Taieri Historical Society runs the Middlemarch Museum where The Platypus is located.
The Strath Taieri Historical Society runs the Middlemarch Museum which collects and cares for Strath Taieri artifacts and shares their stories.
Use of funds
Funds raised will be used to lift it off the ground, clean and protect the surface, cover with a roof and provide signage to tell its intriguing story. We are only requesting part of the overall cost.
Last week was very exciting. Rose Evans, conservator from Auckland spent three days in Middlemarch gathering information for the conservation plan for the submarine. A public meeting, unexpectedly, brought a great grandson of the submarine builder to our township. Discussions with interested firms have begun.
Want to get in touch with Strath Taieri Historical Society?One question has been asked already. Check it out and ask yours here.
Want to display a QR code that links to this page?Grab a QR Code
Any concerns?Report this page
This page was created on 13 Mar 2017 and closed on 1 Sep 2017.